March 17, 2012

  • I sentence THEE

    it’s friday the sixteenth of March.  I will be making the st patrick’s day execution  today as plans and hopes swirl to make day of just about perfect for it to be leftovers…and 

    4 pound point cut corned beef

    savoy cabbage

    fako beer of the alcohol fre kind

    carrot

    potato

     

    interestingly enough – for those of you who can baby a roast- it’s best to cook roast first 2 hours by itself dry fattier side up…then after that 2 hours add potatoes and carrots and of bourse beer, included seasoning packet, and cook this about an hour then ad cabbage shred adjust so there is some waterhalf to 3/4 inch ish left and add that shredded cabage to just steam…. why? duh everything cooks differently.  this fives you a 4-6 hour roast for extra tender corned bee feely mush  tater/carrot  but steamed done cabbage.

     

    375 at altitude, 350 not at altitude. lid on to surround in steaminess…this isn’t a roast but acorned beef.

     

    I have hydrochlorothiazide on standby for the nitwit me who loves corned beef more than any other dish- yet duh this means 3 gallons of water to get over? corned or rined or SALT jesus h christ is it salt.   I bought enough to have a small shot at corned beef hash.

     

     —

    edit

     

    it’s lidded with potatoes and carrots in and will steam/boil the rest of it’s time – most of the top fat was clear so iwill be a far mor tender roast.

     

    oddly enough I was nearly out of potatoes…weird.  thus because I hadn’t gotten to them I tossed in the purple ones.. soon I’ll toss in the anise chopped as I’m deficient on veggie matter and I don’t wish the cabbage to stew but steam.  watch out this’ll be one kind of sweet roast. :D

     

    purple potatoes and anise *florence fennel?  I’m out to lunch but dinner ‘ll be good.

    edit #2

    cracklin.  the top fatty side was cracklin crisp and that’s a bonus.  fork tender meat.  purple potatoes might be slightly bitterer but taste like regular potatoes but a tad bland. fennel is magic.  odouls amber is the magic ingredient part dieux.  1 pount a person uncooked weight meat means I can have one small amount of hash tomorrow  otherwise thisis dinner for five if you add a sixth potato.

Comments (14)

  • oh, my.  I think corned beef is just about the most delicious thing on the planet, and perfect with a good beer.

    corned beef hash is wonderful with breakfast, mixed in with eggs fried over medium, and coffee.  yum!

    wonderful meal, Josh.  give us the rundown after it’s all consumed!

    j.

  • I thought its something Irish :p

  • I usually cook my corn beef in beer it helps to breakdown some of the salt

  • I forgot all about St. Patrick’s Day. Have a green time!

  •  @plantinthewindow - it’s about 2 hours in and I d the Irishman I live with never grew up with it  he would however have bacon and cabbage on’t wanna peel potatoes and find carrots can’t I just eat meat? lol  up I go shortly

    @MichellelyNg – corned beef is strictly american :D – I beliee it was seventeen hundrendred sixty-eight was the first St Patrick’s day parade in new york city New York- where in the Irish within the British army…yes this country wasn’t a country but a colony set then, celebrated Irishness in america first :D  also the corned beef- no, not irish but American.  The Irishman I live with says bacon and cabbage – now that’s  as Irish as we get *cabbage and t…which bacon is as close as we’d get…  and a “boiled dinner” is traditional but corned beef dinner is new world.

    @SisterMae - sure hope so! :)   hydrochlorothiazide on standby! however I may be doing tullamore dew coffees ..yeah yeah in my dreams and only one but I sure look forward to the outting.

    @sleekpeek - I may – I think tommorrow is sixtysix days at scruffy murphy’s for the …ve in reality I’ll likely be just dreaming of alcohol consumption  lol :D   have a grand day you’re own self :D ry temptingbreakfast slot 10-12 :D   I don’t know if I get to run into the original potcheen I can also have tullamore dewed coffee…mmm… but yeah yeah yeahband and their traditional band atop the bus for the parade or even if I’m catching much of that.  scruffy’s has an extensive scotch list…tempting…

  • I cooked my corned beef on Tuesday and ate it on Thursday.  I just simmered it in water and beer for a few hours.

  • What a great St. Patty’s day it is! Yum! Corned beef!

  • @godfatherofgreenbay - you know I can say thesame thing! :D   funny how you’ve two basic approaches to cooking simple/fast or complex/laborious  or a combo platter in between.  I could say it’s hours of dedication and get cut off by the yo yo who’s only in the mood for a microwaved burrito takes too long!  I by a health nazi.  I could talk that same rabbit food and get booed out of town for not di  leftovers are for other people.scussing real food.  Most agree that the beauty of the even called dinner/meals in general is that it sound good and involve no dishes to be seen or left to do.  to appear like magic and disappear to tidy just as fast.I could talk paula dean and get muled kicked could rachel ray brilliance and get sneared at for not taking the time to do it right.  sound like a cliche?  a PLATITUDE? heheheheheh.

  • @sleekpeek - :D yes it is :D party party (quietly!) wooooooT

  • UmmmmMMMMM!  That sure sounds good!!!  Yes, corned beef is spring food in the New World; it was corned to keep over the winter, like ham and smoked meats.  It’s been an awfully long time since I’ve had any corned beef, roast or hash.  Beef is dreadfully expensive here in Korea, and I don’t think they’ve heard of preserving it with salt or by smoking.  They do make a smoked ham loaf, like Spam, but much less salt and a lot tastier. 

    We had stir-fried cabbage, carrots, and green onions mixed with sausage slices and bits of liver to celebrate St. Patrick.  It’s called “soon-day-chon” and is topped with sweet and spicy jalapeno sauce and just a few strands of hand-made spaghetti.

  • @sillama1 - :D you’re tempting me. :D

  • I’ve only had corned beef once and I’m not sure it was truly cooked properly. I didn’t care for it regardless and this seems so wrong since I am a wee bit Irish and drawn to many things Irish. For example if I got the chance to travel abroad Ireland is where I’d go. I hope you enjoyed your meal! peace & smiles

  • @peacenow - do I have chef on the road?  lol.  well  lets discuss luncheon meats a moment pastrami, corned beef, both are wiki links wherein you can see what they are… to grock this :D     principally I see these commercial as? pastramin pepper, corned beef coriander somewhere in how it’s cooked. coriander is the seed of ? cilantro or chinese parsley… wiki says so :D click!  but that’s uniqueely interesting as I read somewhere that chinese parsley was phenomenal to helping those with mercury poisoning to be able to fight what is otherwise lethal buggies resisting antibiotics :D   now problem everyone now says study I read the damn thing too but good luck finding that again :D so forgive me but you get an .org message and can just take it as read that y. omura, m.d. did a study late nineties and now everyone is convinced but is just hawking snake oil not spefic information http://www.autismtreatmentcenter.org/wwwboard/messages/1434.html  but there you are, coriander, corrned beef you dislike perhaps that why or maybe because is salty.  what about pastrami? I adore that or maybe you’re not fond of cow parts that way…salty.   :D and if you like it- make certain to have cilantro if you go tuna fishing :D

  • Hmmm… I’m not sure why I didn’t like it. I don’t know if it’s the salt. I tried it once and not again. And, no,  I don’t care for pastrami either – when I tried it way back when. The corned beef was maybe 10 yrs ago, the pastrami longer so who knows. Maybe if I tried it again I’d like it. I read that different parts are used for pastrami now in your link. I’d want to try the good part . Not navel. Heh. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *