March 12, 2012

  • fields of gold- reprise

    it’s coming up march and all too soon it’ll be spring and summer all over again.  I have and empty jug of wine.  I can get more   will I get around to dandelion wine this time?

     


    http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/dandelion.asp

    • 2 qts dandelion flowers
    • 2½ lbs granulated sugar
    • 4 oranges (juice only)
    • 1 gallon water
    • 1 tsp yeast nutrient
    • Chablis wine yeast

    Put water on to boil. Stir in sugar until completely dissolved. Meanwhile,
    wash flowers and trim away all greenery. Put flowers, juice of oranges and yeast
    nutrient in primary and add boiling water. Stir and cover primary. Allow to cool
    to room temperature and add activated yeast. After 48 hours, strain off and
    discard flowers. Transfer to secondary and fit airlock. Ferment to dryness.
    Rack, top up and refit airlock. Repeat every 60 days until no further sediment
    is deposited during 60 day period. Stabilize, wait two weeks and rack into
    bottles. Set aside 6 months before tasting. [Adapted recipe from Leo Zanelli's
    Home Winemaking from A to Z]

     

    http://hbd.org/brewery/library/CidYeast091595.html

    here in contain a lesson on yeast:

    “One year the [batch] may be award-winning but could equally be putrid. No one group of yeast (beer or wine) was more successful at producing a tasty {batch} than the other”

     

Comments (9)

  • I’ve been wanting to try that for the longest time but I never get around to making it because I just mow them down

  • I’ve got lots of dandylions this year – I’m going to try this, Thanks!

  • As an advocate of DIY drinking and drugging, I can get behind this. I’ll spread the word.

  • @godfatherofgreenbay - my excuse too! I remember having 3 lawns even brought my bottles over to get going and flubbed it!u  it’s a daunting task to overlok a yard thinking 2 steps ahead like oh, if I pick them then weed the yard both of us win then ug what a task! :D mow.  lol.  to avoid this I’m determined to be an ass and pick my buds and let ‘em mow the rest…. just so it get’s done!  :) we’ll see.

  • @mlbncsga - it’s worth noting that I’ve brewed before hard apple cider ala friend’s waterbed for temperature control :D it’s stinky so ventilation  of that area should be considered :D .  I look forward to this :D -

  • @dirtbubble - :) :D I look forward to saying some Geronimo! is coming :D

  • I have never tried dandelion wine.  the book or the beverage.

    what’s the beverage like?

  • @plantinthewindow - haven’t a foggy clue to be honest ;)   the closest I’ve come is with ice wine- the raiseny or more raiseny made wine mine was german.  I’ve never read the book either.  I do however like that particular picture of the cover..  so :D I guess I shall have to try to fix this and let you know :D .

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *