March 31, 2012

  • Statistical Powers Analysing Novel Kookiness

    http://www.sidewalklyrics.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/spanking.jpg

     

    Let’s face it, Statistics are a punishment as much  of education is.  One just waits for the book across the backside and to be sent off to our room to howl it off.  As I’m feling masochistic about my interests I will now punish YOU with the rest of your reading on the white Rice (rightness) of Mathematic “brilliance?”

    Oh Jeanie of Math make me wise
    Bedazzle me with powers before my eyes
    One plus one equals two – buckle my shoe
    I want more from life than that before I’m through
     
    Oh Jeanie of math make me wise
    and show me truth others denounce as lies
    As a trapdoor spider awaiting it’s meal
    I pounce upon the bug-witted with a squeal.
     
    In the forests of words
    all said awaits its ears
    But step carefull about your map
    so you may harvest the world like a champ.
     
    I did not learn it fast
    so I stood at bus stops awaiting the splash
    Think now to the power of puddle
    rice grows there by the bundles

    I remember back to algebra class
    that wicked confusing voodoo at a glance
    But this story of pwers doubling
    rattles about still troubling
     
    A king hords rice for times of trouble
    ’til it came naught to be found in the rubble
    A mathmatic wit tricking? king for a town redemption
    double each day your gift without exception
     
    Two upon two is four upon four more
    Eight on eight, sixteen – seeming even to the poor
    but double what little you have and believe
    as a month 30 days doubled becomes billions acheived
     
    Oh Jeanie of Math what does this mean
    is is truly salvation for me gleened?
    I tricked a stupid king into feeding a town?
    perhaps, but look again  at the truth all around
     
    I must wait 18 days to feed folks but one day
    a true struggle of believe eand effort you may say
    not to mention carrying the later logistics
    of you carry a towns year of food, oi vey what now statistis?
     
    Now a billion grains of rice-lets make it two
    and let’s say the king’s no dullard, no fool
    You take from him his prized polished rice
    You ask for quantity so quality jips you more than twice
     
    For you see a pound of rice is grains 29,000
    and the best grades are 4 times that mountain
    Either way, be it 74000 pounds food to guard,
    or but a measly 18k pounds – a task somewhat less hard
     
    It’s yours unguarded til it’s gone
    yes, a year’s trouble alll year long
    and a gift? you’ve gambled more than a year
    it’s two years to protect yourself  and repay just debts – clear?
     
    Doubling your work and risks
    for nothing but toils more brisk
    If you lose you just die
    and to me that king was not greedy but wise
     
    King guards now one less grain tower
    is repaid double and does less gaining in power
    But the town wins life and more troubles
    five years luck to win their struggle
     
    They must now fend more for themselves
    yet their burden to state doubles
    Numbers, you see, are a double edged sword
    Oh Jeanie Math you evil Jin I adore
     
    Be careful now how you bitch of others greed
    They may reward you with but more troubles with glee
    Jeanie Math isn’t on you side
    Oh Jeanie jin of Math you’re just out for your cut as any bride
     
    One greedy dumb king husbanded with skill
    and hustled a town with prosperity for the thrill
    Oh Jeanie jin of Math
    sing to me the power of nothing’s path
     
    -

     

    if you’re Curious the math is this:

    rice doubled, 2 to the power of 30 is

    http://mathletenation.com/content/one-grain-rice-power-doubling-92310-kindergarten

    (I heard that story in college FUCK, now it’s for kindergardeners)

     

    rice grains

    29,000 ~ http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_many_grains_of_rice_are_in_a_one_pound_

     google math of ~2Gigs grains of rice divided by above info leaving between 18k -74k+ 

    caloric value within a pound of rice

    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_many_calories_in_one_pound_of_rice
     

     survivalist proof that such isn’t a complete diet

    http://www.survivalistboards.com/showthread.php?t=41765
    pone pound per person per day x 365

    dividing  ~18k by 365  is just over 50 (people a small villiage)

    information on rice production 7000-9000 california rice production per acre

    http://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/sb974-7/sb974-7.pdf

     to bring some concept of the scope of work required to grow a lot of rice

     

    the stupity of the dream that is the itty bitty farm
    http://www.newworldeconomics.com/archives/2010/040410.html

    to remind people if they’re unware of the scope of math it isn’t for one peorson its beyond that

     

    please read the table within the powers of double t see that it takes about 18 days “total starvation” before the first day of food arrive but by the end of the tail logistics will show you it take nearly a month to transport the remaining gift.

     

    there is your spanking on the silly notions we’re dazzled by in mathematics  

Comments (9)

  • I am glad I never had a statistics class.  I did have this weird math class that in the grand scheme of things made absolutely no sense to my program.  It was something about number systems and basically the whole time we learned how to do math in stuff like binary.

  • @godfatherofgreenbay -  I’m not particularly adeptat math so I…uh… write poetic isms about mathmatics :D   :D :D

  • This is super awesome!

  • @Xcite_Me - :D I was feeling ornery and the por people I sent versions of this to were looking at me funny as if I spanked them with a math story LOL.  I had to be me

    perhaps I’m not the greatest of wits all the time but I just had to poke holes in this gem.

  • Josh, this is really wonderful.  you’ve outdone yourself!

    and that king learned a lesson.

    well done!

  • @plantinthewindow - :)  the story doesn’t hold water obviously :D   thanks kind sir :D sure he did :D

  • I love it Josh!  Wowza!  But two things.  First, I never got spanked as a child!  Isn’t that awesome?!  And, therefore, I never spanked my girls!  Second, what if you changed the rice to wild rice?  Would it change the whole equation?  hahahahahaha  One reason I majored in Journalism in college was so I wouldn’t have to take math classes!  hee, hee

  • @heart_beep - you are lucky and pass such on. :)

      wild rice  has roughly and averaged 8000 seed kernals per pound but remember grading allow some to shatter this grain is known for that.  so to get a weight measurement from the number of total grains divided by the grains per pound average or ~2.1 billion / 8000 yields 265k pounds which is shown by nutrition data to be not the 1000 calories per pound I was told but about 450… so as I’m aming for as simple of math as I can get  4x 450 is 1800 calories which still is too  so we’ve not pounds but but daily raition of food of roughly  . 67kounds… now this must be divided by 365…the year til next harvest  so we have the number of people such a measure of food would support.. and that is 183 which is a wildly diferent number than rice rice’s 50.  weird it’s less nutritious than rice…well anyways to finish your answer with extra credit 296 pound of green wild rice becomes roughly seventy five pounds finished process rice 296 is roughky the production of one acre900 hundred acres are thus required  with good yield to achieve the finished product of the number of grains.. now the number of  of  tasty because of it’s difficulty to procure  thus rarity :)   1  vast difference in yeild and processing but 183 makes sense that’s FAR below rices 20 something acres hint their indeed would be a significant gift involved with the wining 2 billion grains of wild rice that’s 10 villages work o …. and even a bandit attack would not ruin the value of the gift as it’s still 3 years worth of food they were saved and make money.- screw the greedy kingf production!

    http://corn.agronomy.wisc.edu/Crops/WildRice.aspx

    (as to what such means for the story, well ;) that  entirely invalidates my conclusions then as a villiage that instantly recieves 3 years worth of food has  the year of famine a protected year of another famine and 1 year’s worth of money t still profit fabulously… ahhh win win win ahhh.o be made of now surprlus grain that’s highlly prized in hard times and thus wold make thefend off thievery’s loss and gift an instant salvation.  so smarty woman 10 villages lose to one’s pretigious acheivemand that of course is human nature winning  your needs  surplus of security enough additional surplus to ent

  • Pretty good there Joshy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *