April 25, 2012

  • best books?

    Top list are dificult because one either has to ax little gems to make some arbitrary number or have an assymetrical list.  But, in that @buddy71 in his kones of life post with a prety picture I might add, reminds me- enough time ha past to sift the memory for good books.

     

    Oddly enough, I do not remember the first book I read- something about a monkey and I was rather pissed that of the choicesthe popular one was about a deer which I didn’t read.  I don’t remember all the effort nor a single book read to me other than the bible beforehand- unlike chhildren of today, there was no nursery or seperate place there just was the whack in the back of the head to stay away.  I also do not remember if I have the first book I wrote completely done up in wall paper of the desk of that teacher of first grade who kindly dictated our brilliances and what not… sad day I might add to recieve back you bestest art grandmom charished enough to had back to you to cherish it your own damn self now :D lol…first thing that happened was tragic shatter of frame and soon enough le toss I already did the frame store- tragic 336 dollar reframing with light behind etched glass thingabob… I couldn’t help give it away trying to make out like it was cool enough not to be a white elephant.  or the pink ones of books of my early life.

     

    from first to seventh grade i didn’t read big books with the exception of learning to browse to correct passages in the bible courtesy o church – about the only book I liked was a series caled The Great Brain by John Dennis Fitzgerald.  it was a bit of a bumer to find out only after I watched “to tell the truth” wheein the gotcha line of the reveal was  “I’m not so and so; I’m a jazz musician….and the next fellow said to kill the second guess… and I’m his drummer.  I  that with a hoot because mr fitzgerald wrote such ficticious LIES damn it he made the whole thing up so he could play music and i bought it. managed to paint sidwalk number.the books… sheeep dip. My favorite then and now is “the great brain at the academy” wherein the entrepenuerial tom dennis or runs an illegal candy operation and various other deviltry for profit  my own wretched skills of entrepenuerial zest amounted to saving my dad two allowances as I’d one ofthe gals I wentto highschool with… fh clu I managed to get a tecumseh  lawn mower motor aparand that fucking ferret pissed my white shirt entirely golden yellow- would you like our pet back?….alive?  however despite a t, I don’t believe it would ever run again…I fixed it good.  anaged to paint some addresses n the curbs.  later on I managed ONE whole junior acheivement sale  track racks: a x small number of dowell s withpin seperators wooden ends natural wood….overpriced…..we didn’t sell enough for a failure of a pizza party… I don’t believe we made enas much as a candy bar after expenses…..yaaaaaaay… and a few evenings waiting for rides chatting up to no avail this lass I went to highschool with. so, overall, rtoute because I answer a phone nice, todoing- nor getting work on my own- I made 22 dollars t so hot at entrepenueralnot courtesy of my parents I thing – the lady at the town paper where dad advertised gave me the  route as I had a decent manner; I got hired into a office at seventeen via a blind summer program I was in answering the phones, making bad coffee once….oh never again…  the point though is simple I’ve from 7 on admired those who are savvy like that- to turn nothing into omething.

     

    The first big book as in 200+ pages and not relating to church but read from cover to cover, was … ” Terry Brooks’ The Wishsong of shanara.  this was to start a major flaw within me o reading series ass ou of order.  as wishsong was book three then I read boook two: elfstones and then book one the sword.  I’m not sure of my other sin of reading the last manay pages after 1/3 the book and then trying to finish it if it’s not ruined and sometimes it is sometimes not.  wishsong is about the only book wherein a character dies and it stole. a tear out of me awww.  but then again that might have been from listening to kenny g at the time- and? no matter how hard I tried I don’t think I surpassed then or for long reading about 300 words a minute  but this meant in that trade paperback…the big ones…I read 300 plus pages in a sitting

     I have not read a word of his work since.

     

    a book set that rounds out birth to adulthood  is:

     

    mpactBack To Basics which i own still.  this is a edited together set of skils and joys from the back t the earth movements that caught on breifly in the seventies and 80′s.  I have used it’s picture of a calabash whistle a button string spinny toy for youngsters to great effect in craft classes at camp, I’m not so sure I’ve done anything with the informations/subjects otherwised covered in the book.. I still may I still like it- I’ve paids 10 bucks and special ordered it twice.  pardon me if I have to replace it again I will scream and NEVER let anyone touch it.

     

    coor:s a taste of the west second edition. this is the last book of childhood that had some impact.  I’m not sure I’ve made but ONE thing from this book which is sourdough starter.  I swear to no one and nothing but I intend to make a vinegar pie out of it but I haven’t in 25 years june

     

     

    -

    the honorable mentions are:

    anything and everything Kurt vonnegut junior which I found in highschool.

    choose your oone day she skipped off to adventures without him hit her head on a rock and drowned.. this was before blockbuster child dies movies like the prince of tides by many many years.wn adventure books till I cheated and made sure I had the best adventure possible- remember 1rst grade and picking wrong and later the adhd  reading styles of read some then the end some then finish it :D etc.  and entrepenuerial opportunities never pay very much.

    patriot games it was a newberry award winner but I remember reading it- I know it made a television todo but it’s a story of a friend guy to girl where (tom clancy) which was about the first book I read before seeing a movie of said and can vividly remember …hey damn it- the booook?  the book’s better… there is still something magical about reading words – that pictures fail me and them.

    I forget the books title and author but I believe it was around the mid eighties where this newberry award medal offering is the beginning of a trend in power stories where chidren die.  this one is of a boy and girl who skip off to adventure across a creek- one day lass leaps off without him and slips bashes head drowns.  it beats the stories gone movie  like the prince of tides but probably set the stage for power stories….where it isn’t a happy ending.

    Don quixote miguel cervantes- I believe I was entranced by this book but I grew to find it far funnier later in multiple rereadings.  but I read it around sophomore year highschool first.

    -

     

Comments (6)

  • Guess what? I’ve never read Don Quixote. I’m of the Dick and Jane generation of first books. My first experience in the old days of reading a chapter book was when the teacher sent me to the library, yet again because she never knew what to do with me when I kept finishing up my work too early, I tried to read a chapter book. I kept thinking these chapters were individual stories, so I’d find a title I liked and skip around the book. This one book puzzled me very much, and I thought I was stupid. No one showed me that a book could be longer than 10 pages and the chapters were consecutive to the entire story. Doh! I gave that a break and taught myself Spanish (elementary, muy bien). I think this was the third or fourth grade. Today, or maybe in your generation, too, these kids are reading chapter books and getting the idea in the 1st grade. Having a helpful home life is an excellent start. I was lucky enough to have the Bible and the Book of Saints. Were it not for that, I expect I would be “dull” (er). Moby Dick in the 5th grade when I transferred to a Private school. In public I was so smart I did busy work in the library. In private school with doctors’ and lawyers’ kids I was just “average”. Shocking! I wouldn’t gauge public school today that way except that in many cases it caters to the lowest common denominator. … According to what is valued. Do we care about good will toward man? Or the highest standardized test scores based on back-stabbing American values? *shrug* I’m into Red Stripe beer of late. I think it was because you said Coors. Check my comprehension level. I’m off, aren’t I? :)  Great subject you have here: Books. I first read Fitzgerald well into my 30s. Shocking. I know. Late bloomer. :) You are an entrepreneur. Too bad about some people’s American values, I suppose. You are rich in my book.

  • i dont recal the first book that i ever read and i dont recall reading much before high school where my reading took off. we did not have “required” reading, but i do remember i was in a very small group of people that read: “atlas shrugged”, “lord of the flies” and my ever present “walden”.

    i do recall reading comics as a child as i would find the money that had fallen out of the newspaper machines or left in the pay phones.

    i do rememebr being read to in grade school classes books like “charlotes web”

  • @sleekpeek - I’m not entirely sure I have read melville.  I caught the dick and jane reference in red dwarf …. “this one’s for first graders..you should try it.. – I’m not even slightly interestedin what cats have to say.   I’amazing stuff- *sniffs book) “dick . bu this ball. this big bal this big red ball….. you should try reading your shirt sometime… it’s probablya novel by victor hugo. :D   anyways you’re really angling forverbose christmas cards aren’t you- thank you for the compliment.

  • @sleekpeek - coors doesn’t make redstripe nor molson property.  I also see rarely different places importing again – it’s back being sourced from jamaiica. 

     @buddy71 - I’m thinking it was homecoming by judy blume.  I’m not sure anymore what lord of the flies is about it’s been awhile- I however read all but one of the books in the english department circular rotation for all the students ever  ..budhawell’s bambedier beer is a refreshing twist on newcastle brown ale and a bit sweeter and almost a choc bar smack to it. beer.  rather grosch-est with out the skunkiness.  its is thee hit with the gals .

    http://seattletrademarklawyer.com/storage/Buddha%20-%20Laughing%20Buddha.jpg?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION=1235535020140

  • @starmanjones - i just remembered that as a child i read “the hardy boys” and “tom swift”.  i also read about some sports guys like babe ruth, knute rockne,  and all those types.

  • @buddy71 - I read a few hardy boys and a few more nancy drew- I hower do not remember reading tom swift or knute rockne ever :D   – I have red a lil jim kjelgaard and his big red…dog… books. which reminds me later why I like Merle’s door – ted kerasote which is highly researched to be the latest and greatest on dog behaviouknow the ending though./”thought”  – the other is “the intelligence of dogs which is far more broad spectrum about breed sensitivities.  of course I’ve red “where the red fern grows ” too and odly I don’t think I’ve seen even if the ending is spoilt “old yeller”. which brings to mind the fairness of llamas in stories ;) know any? emperor’s new groove is about all I’m aware on the subject.  I still say no one beats the character of the horse in david eddings “the ruby knight”

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *